Blame food stamps

Leave a comment

May 9, 2013 by calamity3039

The food price inflation blame should be placed where it is rightfully deserved. Yes, a jump in oil and commodity prices does cause some inflation. The devaluing of the U.S. Dollar does cause some inflation. The extent of food inflation leads me to believe that the real blame is EBT participants. I blame food stamps for supplying an artificial demand on food. Every time I am in the grocery store I can’t help but get pissed. I see people with completely full shopping carts and too many kids. I know not one of these people can afford that much food on their own. I get even more pissed when I have to wait behind these people in the check out line.

Without the 50 million “surviving” on the food stamp programs, food prices would swiftly go down. The demand for Hagen-Doss and Doritos would have to survive solely on potheads. Anybody that has been very poor knows, without assistance, you shop very differently. When I have personally been desperately broke,  I didn’t eat much. I was very careful about the food I would put in my mouth. My diet would largely consist of meat and veggies, soups,  and stews. I ate a lot of pastas and lasagna. Anything that could be made cheaply and last for a few leftover servings. I would even go as far to predict that most junk food companies would have gone belly up in the past few years. You can’t eat a diet of that much junk food when you can afford so little. You get more hungry and the food doesn’t last that long.

Corporate grocery stores are currently surviving off the EBT program. I worked at Wal-Mart during the Summer of 2011 and it was eye opening. I worked on the grocery side of the store being an overnight stocker. I had transferred from the electronics side because of low sales. Working the overnight shift was the only full time position in the store. I remember one shift when I got stuck working the check out line for four hours. During that time span, nobody payed for their groceries with their own money. Everybody had EBT cards. I was not pleased at the end of that shift. I realized after that shift that Wal-Mart was mostly surviving off the government. They were being pseudo subsidized. The retail part of their business does very little in profits.

As if we couldn’t be mad enough about J.P.Morgan profiting off of food stamps. There are even more corporations on the government dole. Taxpayers shouldn’t be subsidizing poor decisions. I don’t support the food stamp program. I don’t support women becoming baby factories to get more benefits. I don’t support enabling fat people to get fatter. When you are poor and hungry you tend to work harder. You don’t make as many mistakes. An empty stomach is a great motivator.

Leave a Reply

